I found an explanation of Kalama Sutta in a website which is said to be from a Tipitaka teacher in Sri Lanka. Is Kalama Sutta only about Kilesas?

Kālāma sutta is only to be applied for Lobha-dosa-moha?

The famous Sri Lankan lay Dhamma-preacher Saminda Ranasingha (aathaapi.org) insists on two points when he is explaining Kālāma sutta.

  1. Kālāma sutta is only to be applied for Non-Buddhists
  2. Kālāma sutta is only to be applied for Lobha-dosa-moha (and Alobha-adosa-amoha)

I’m here going to introduce the 2nd point of him, for seeing your comments.

enter image description here

Rest part of the sutta is also evaluated in the same way by him.

So he insists that Kālāmā Sutta can not be applied for evaluating other things mentioned in the Tipitaka.

If we consider the phrasing-style of the last paragraph in the above

“Iti kho, kālāmā, yaṃ taṃ avocumhā – … iti yaṃ taṃ vuttaṃ, idametaṃ paṭicca vuttaṃ.

So, as I said, kalamas – … Thus was it said. And in reference to this was it said.

This style can be seen in many Suttas in Anguttara nikaya and Majjima nikaya where,

  1. An “Uddesa (recitation passage)” is introduced first.
  2. Then it is questioned why was it mentioned. (in most cases)
  3. Then the Niddesa (explanation of the Uddesa) is menioned.
  4. At the end, it is concluded that the above Uddesa was mentioned for Niddesa.

Eg: Sakkapañhasutta, Araṇavibhaṅgasutta, Saḷāyatanavibhaṅgasutta, Dutiyasaññāsutta, Paṭhamamahāpañhāsutta, Titthāyatanādisutta … etc.


“‘Cha ajjhattikāni āyatanāni veditabbāni, …’ti – ayamuddeso saḷāyatanavibhaṅgassa. “‘Cha ajjhattikāni āyatanāni veditabbānī’ti – iti kho panetaṃ vuttaṃ. Kiñcetaṃ paṭicca vuttaṃ? ‘Cakkhāyatanaṃ sotāyatanaṃ ghānāyatanaṃ jivhāyatanaṃ kāyāyatanaṃ manāyatanaṃ. Cha ajjhattikāni āyatanāni veditabbānī’ti – iti yaṃ taṃ vuttaṃ idametaṃ paṭicca vuttaṃ.

“‘The six interior sense fields should be understood. …’ This is the recitation passage for the analysis of the six sense fields. ‘The six interior sense fields should be understood.’ – That’s what I said, but why did I say it? There are the sense fields of the eye, ear, nose, tongue, body, and mind. ‘The six interior sense fields should be understood.’ – That’s what I said, and this is why I said it.

1 Answer 1


All evil is rooted in "just" Lobha-dosa-moha, and all good in a-*, so what's the point, good householder. And yes, the talk is given to those without refuge yet.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .