Title really. I am reading the tibetan lamrim version of the 9 mental abiding and trying to correlate it to the theravada 8 jhanas, I can't seem to find which jhana/abiding is which in regards to the other tradition.

The practice for both is still samatha.

If anyone has an informed opinion or understanding of the practices I could really do with some help understanding how the 2 different explanations coincide.


In the Gelugpa's Lamrim tradition for sure, and I suspect in most other Lamrim traditions as well, the four rupa jhanas and the subsequent arupa jhanas are practiced after the 9 abidings, once the calm abiding has been achieved.

Please refer to Meditative States in Tibetan Buddhism, page 85.

  • 2
    I was actually reading that book as well as other books to find the answer and eventually got to the understanding that the 9 calm abiding are what as knows as access concentration, a prerequisite to jhana meditations.
    – Remyla
    Sep 10 at 16:47

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.