And to whom does it arise? Also know as the Smile of the Arahant (hard to look On google)

Asking for a friend. Pass this on wont you?

  • 1
    A later Abhidhamma invention, Nyom palikanon.com/english/wtb/g_m/kiriya.htm (Brah google knows ones usual desires...) – Samana Johann Feb 17 at 10:21
  • 1
    No, that's just conventional knowlegde. But to distinguish good and bad, of course a ordinary person whould not easily know, yet could take on it in faith at first place. – Samana Johann Feb 17 at 10:32
  • 1
    Arahants have neither conceit nor wrong view – yuttadhammo Feb 17 at 10:33
  • 1
    Worldling aren't able to recognice such even in themselfs: something to consider... – Samana Johann Feb 17 at 10:36
  • 1
    At least they do not take what isn't given, and don't speak in praise of what is based on wrong view, encourage others to wong doing: something that could be of help for ordinary people to observe... – Samana Johann Feb 17 at 10:37

Kriya citta is functional consciousness, meaning it performs a function without being karmically potent. In an arahant, it replaces kusala citta. An arahant does not create karma so their seemingly wholesome mind states are called kriya (functional).

Specifically, there are eight types of sahetuka-kāmāvacara-kriyā-citta - functional consciousness in the sensual sphere which have wholesome roots (non-greed, non-anger, non-delusion) and nine sahetuka-kriyā--jhāna-citta corresponding to the nine jhāna which also have wholesome roots. All of these arise only in arahants.

There are three additional ahetuka-kriyā-citta (rootless functional consciousness), one of which is the smile producing consciousness that occurs only to arahants. The other two are the adverting consciousnesses present in every mind process.

| improve this answer | |
  • So only for an arahant then? Kriya citta does not arise to a monastic? – 4N4G4M1N Feb 17 at 10:34
  • It's good to mention that it is an Abhidhamma and post canon term, not really finding a justification in this use in the Suttas, good Brahman. – Samana Johann Feb 17 at 10:34
  • 2
    The last two types mentioned occur in everyone, the rest only occur in arahants (including buddhas and private buddhas). – yuttadhammo Feb 17 at 10:35

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.