Namo Buddhaya!

Can someone please SIMPLY explain the EIGHT Jhanas, specifically:

1) What are Jhanas meant to do & why would one want to achieve them?

2) How does one specifically achieve them (instructions please)?

3) What happens in each individual Jhana, from the first to the eighth?

4) How can I explain the Jhanas to a newcomer of the Dhamma?

Please use scripture to back up your answers, but don't make your whole answer scripture...


marked as duplicate by ChrisW Sep 22 at 21:00

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • where is a duplicate? – Dhammadhatu Sep 22 at 21:02
  • 1
    I think this was a duplicate or very nearly a duplicate, of a previous topic (i.e. Please describe all the Jhanas in everyday languague). If this question isn't the same as the previous/existing topic, please clarify how this question is different. – ChrisW Sep 22 at 21:02
  • the question is very extensive while other questions are very specific to only certain matters – Dhammadhatu Sep 22 at 21:04
  • 2
    i answered here: buddhism.stackexchange.com/questions/2014/… because Yuttadhammo answered here. – Dhammadhatu Sep 22 at 21:08
  • @Dhammadhatu The banner at the top which says, "This question already has an answer here" -- do you see that has an "edit" link which you can click, to add to the list of questions of which this is a duplicate? I edited this list to add links to the two other topics which you edited just now, but perhaps you too could edit the list if you want to. – ChrisW Sep 22 at 21:19