In Mindfulness, Bliss, and Beyond, Ajahn Brahm writes -

The Buddha taught two types of satipaṭṭhāna. The first type is supported by jhāna and leads to enlightenment in a short time.

Which satipaṭṭhāna is the first type, and where can it be found ? (By "two types" does he mean the two versions DN 22 and MN 10?) Please reference both types and specify which is the "first type".

  • There is some explanation here, as in Jhanas of the present moment mindfulness: youtube.com/watch?v=zAt3J3-wEOI
    – user13383
    Commented Jul 12, 2018 at 10:23

2 Answers 2


The idea of Ajahn Brahm sounds strange to me. I imagine there is only one type of Satipatthana, which means to "establish mindfulness". What this means is whatever body, feelings, mental states or Truth/Reality is/are experienced; the mind 'remembers' ('sati') to not have covetousness & distress towards those bodies, feelings, mental states or Truth/Reality.

Jhana (Appanā Samādhi) is merely a higher level of feelings (2nd satipatthana) and mind (3rd satipattana) than experienced with the lower Neighborhood Concentration (Upacara Samadhi) of Anapanasati. Therefore, mindfulness is established towards jhana the same as towards any other experience, as explained in many suttas, such as below:

Whatever qualities there are in the first jhana... he remained unattracted & unrepelled with regard to those qualities, independent, detached, released, dissociated, with an awareness rid of barriers.

MN 111

You must log in to answer this question.