To refresh your memory, the Eight Worldly Winds are:

  1. Pleasure
  2. Pain
  3. Praise
  4. Blame
  5. Gain
  6. Loss
  7. Fame
  8. Ill-repute
  • I am also curious to know why they are called 'winds'. Term in original language?
    – neubau
    Commented Jun 27, 2014 at 3:33
  • The only source I found which indicates the reason why it's called 'winds' is Milinda Pañha pg.354 where they are called aṭṭhalokadhammavātehi, "by winds of the eight worldly conditions".
    – Unrul3r
    Commented Jun 27, 2014 at 17:03

1 Answer 1


Mentioned in both the Lokavipatti Sutta in the Pali Canon, and in verse 29 of Nagarjuna's "Letter to a Friend."

The short answer on how to deal with them is: see them for what they are. Transient sources of suffering.

You must log in to answer this question.